THE STORY OF MY LIFE

‘Life with Lena Marie’ is a blog about life, with me! In order for you all to follow my life as it is today, I think it is necessary for you all to know who I am and where I come from. So keep on reading to learn more about me πŸ™‚

On August 8th, 1995 I was born to the best mom and dad ever in Hamburg, Germany. My mom is German and my dad is American which was why they chose to raise me with both languages from the beginning. Naturally, as we lived in Germany the first 5 years of my life, German was my primary language. I even had a wee little accent! But as I neared 5 years old, my parents decided to make a big change – they decided to move to my dad’s hometown of Traverse City, Michigan.

On August 7th, 2000, a few hours shy of my 5th birthday we landed in Michigan, for what would be the start of an awesome 13 years. My parents opened up an assisted living which they operated out of our family home, as I started attending Kindergarten at one of the local elementary schools. My parents let me try everything from tap dance, to horse riding by the time I was in 5th grade. I loved reading Harry Potter, watching HGTV (my parents were REALLY strict about what I could watch on TV…) and playing with my Miniature Schnauzer puppy, Tobi!

As I finished 5th grade, I also finished the last year that I would spend at a public school. My parents chose to transfer me to the local Catholic school district in order to give me the best education available in our area. Then commenced the middle school years. The years of the awkward stage, puberty, becoming one’s own individual and discovering passions. I started playing tennis and was a very motivated student. I started going to the Friday night football games and shopped at Aeropostale, because yes, that was kind of hip then.

By the time 2009 rolled around I was a freshman in high school. I was immediately scared into the ‘college’s will see all of your grades from freshman year, so this really counts’ spiel that all teachers gave and thus put a ton of effort into my school work. I enjoyed playing tennis and volleyball and could be found at practices after school. My taxi (my mom, thanks mom) was always prompt to deliver me to the next stop, whether it was choir rehearsal, a volunteer opportunity or to a friends house.

High school was also when I discovered the opposite sex. Hours were spent in front of the mirror, just to go to a football game and prepping for the homecoming dance took months of planning. In sophomore year I had my very first boyfriend, the relationship lasted just shy of a year (he broke up with me 3 days after my grandpa died, while my mom was in Germany helping get my grandma situated… great timing). I remember when my friends showed up at my house with ice cream and tissues to comfort the 16 year me who thought the world was ending. But don’t worry, it did not last long until boyfriend 2, boyfriend 3… (you get the picture) came and went. Through it all tennis and school stayed nearby and my relationship with my mom, dad and puppy was always tight as could be.

As senior year was approaching, I was working my summer jobs as a tennis coach and the top thought in my mind was the same as every senior… what was I going to do with my life? Up until then I wanted to study medicine and become a doctor, but then I realized I was scared of blood – that’s a deal breaker! Then my mom and dad sprung a huge surprise on me – upon completing my senior year of high school we were moving back to Germany! This was NOT what I wanted to hear and as a way of coping I promised myself that I was not going to put any effort into relationships, just school work, tennis and my jobs.

So when in December of 2012 I met this handsome, quiet guy at the local community college and the crush hit me, I was convinced that the relationship would not stand, especially when I told him that I was moving to Germany in a matter of months. Welpppp… as I write this the same handsome, quiet guy is sitting 3 feet away from me, next to his cat Cindy. We quickly fell for each other and in February 2013 we decided to be exclusive. He showed me all of Leelenau County, dealt with my chocolate obsession, and even helped me pack up my entire life. In August 2013 we started the long distance chapter of life.

As my parents and I moved to Stuttgart, Germany, I dreamt of getting into college and moving back to the USA as quickly as possible, but life had different plans for me. I ended up working at Jack Wolfskin, an outdoor clothing store and started college in the spring of 2015 in an International Business program. In summer 2015 I returned ‘home’ to intern at a local company and then I did the same thing this past summer, just this time the internship has been a whole 8 months. Throughout these last 8 months life has changed A LOT! School plans changed, life plans were made, new ideas blossomed and here I am. For those that think you are a hopeless case if college does not work out immediately, here is a little PSA – you’re wrong. I live such an awesome life, no matter the bumps.

Now, at 21 years old, I find myself starting the college journey over (more on that later), Jonathan and I are dreaming of our future together and I have learned to appreciate life for all it offers on a daily basis. I have left out SO many details, but we would have easily been here for hours, so please feel free to leave any questions below!

While I hope that this blog follows me though my future, I hope giving you insights into my past has helped to get to know me more. But, one thing I have learned (finally) is that the past is the past. Were it not for the past, I would not be the woman I am today. So although I am not always proud of the way things have gone in life, I know that it has all been worth it. I cannot wait to have you all follow along and see where this life will take me…

With love,

Lena Marie

You may also like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *